top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrainWorm

Meet CECI Scholar, Irine Khundadze

Updated: Apr 22, 2022

Irine on CECI, starting a food business and expansion across Europe


CECI Scholar Irine Khundadze, Image Credit: Irine Khundadnze


Meet Irine Khundadze, a CECI scholar and recent graduate, BA ‘19, Global Communications, at The American University of Paris. As a new graduate, Irine went back to

Georgia the summer of 2019 to reunite with her family. In the midst of the pandemic, Irine got the idea to start a

project, a pop-up snack bar that now has blossomed into a thriving business with plans for expansion.


We sat down with Irine recently to learn about her years as a CECI scholar and how the AUP experience led her to start her exciting food venture, “Munchies by Food Goddess.”


  1. Tell us about the journey that led you to be a CECI scholar. What was your background before CECI?


I am originally from Tbilisi, Georgia, where I spent my formative years in a private school before moving to the U.S. to complete middle school. I attended Chicago Bulls College Prep School, upon receiving a full-tuition scholarship and at the time lived with my cousins. It was my first time integrating into the American school system and I recall it as a place that instilled discipline in me. It was also the first time I felt “othered” by my classmates. That was very difficult at first but with time it got better.


My hard work and discipline soon gave me some recognition and I was awarded for my academic achievement. I later returned to my homeland to continue with my junior and senior years. I previously had applied to several universities in the U.S. and Europe, including AUP. Although my family was very supportive of my goals, they couldn’t financially provide the opportunity to study abroad. I was keen on coming to AUP mostly because Paris was one of my dream destinations. I envisioned coming to AUP before it happened.


I was pleasantly surprised when AUP reached out to me, and we were in correspondence back and forth before I received the scholarship. I felt extremely happy and fortunate. Even today I am not sure why the CECI team picked me, but I am glad they did. I also recall fondly how the CECI committee held my hand and took me through the admission process until I settled comfortably in Paris. I appreciate that they also took the time to check on me periodically during my entire stay at AUP.


  1. How has the CECI scholarship affected your career and your life?


The CECI scholarship allowed me some freedom. It gave me the freedom to learn and grow without worrying about my financial situation. I was able to go into my classes and prepare for my future by listening to my professors attentively and preparing for all the examinations. I always worked twice as hard because I wanted to honor the privilege the CECI team bestowed upon me, by awarding me this scholarship. I feel that I am a more progressive person thanks to CECI, I wouldn’t be where I am today without CECI. I am now financially independent of my family at the young age of 23 and have the education acquired from a prestigious university. I continue to be very grateful for this opportunity.



  1. Tell us about your new company, its products, and its growth.

Renovating two stores, as she continues to expand


When I returned to Georgia I was surprised at how much progress I had made as a person through my education thanks to the CECI scholarship. I felt more independent and I was able to think differently. I was able to see things in my home country in a different light and identify opportunities, and that is where the Food Goddess came in.

My product “Munchies” was created in Paris, based partly on what I had drawn from French culture and taste, I was able to adapt those influences and include them in my project. The effect was to give my product an edge, to make it distinctive in Tbilisi.

I initially didn’t have a plan to launch a company, I was simply setting up a pop-up store for about four months during the pandemic with plans to return to Paris. Burgers are the main product, and I started selling them from one store with the help of my Instagram page. As Munchies grew, I realized I needed to move into a research phase, collecting feedback from other entrepreneurs on how they run their food businesses in Georgia. As I grew, I realized I needed to scale and change my project into a business. I went through the process of starting my business plan, and following through with regulations, according to Georgia’s laws. My co-founder and I opened my first store and increased our delivery radius around Tbilisi, Georgia’s capital city.


Munchies has grown significantly. In the beginning, we were selling about 15 burgers a day, but now our daily average order rate is 80 to 100 burgers.

We opened one store in July and we are currently in the process of renovating it and opening another store.


I did not know how to run a business or what it entailed. But I figured it out by asking my friends and reaching out to any available resources to build everything by myself, from distribution to setting up the store. My product is adaptable, it can be sold in different markets, it's easy for take-away or delivery. Currently, we are delivering within the capital city.

The keyword about Munchies is quality. My burgers are light and fully fresh. You can enjoy them without any need to feel guilty about eating them.



Munchies Burger by Food Goddess: Image Credit Irine Khundandze



Brunchies by Food Goddess: Image Credit Irine Khundadze



I have just introduced a label, “Brunchies” that delivers sandwiches, and I want to expand my brand Munchies by Food Goddess across Europe, starting with Spain this September.

  1. Any advice for current CECI scholars that are about to graduate?

First of all don’t stress about your AUP experience, I remember being very worried and concerned that I would lose my scholarship, I worked very hard to maintain it but I also realized I needed to also experience the city and travel to get experience outside academia.


I would urge CECI scholars to enjoy the privilege of this scholarship and not too worry too much. I also would advise CECI scholars to make connections as they are very important, I remember feeling very young, out of place and I could have found help with those feelings if I had asked for more information from others. So don’t be shy about reaching out to the CECI committee or other CECI scholars if you need a contact or connection.


39 views0 comments
bottom of page